Skip to main content | Skip to section menu | Access keys.

Clackmannanshire Council Online

Curriculum - leading to qualifications in the senior phase

Curriculum - leading to qualifications in the senior phase

With Curriculum for Excellence, secondary schools are organised in the following ways:

  • S1 - S3 experience a broad general education and build on the work done in primary schools covering Curriculum for Excellence 3rd and 4th Levels.
    • There continues to be a strong focus on interactive teaching, literacy and numeracy, cross-curricular working and learning outside the classroom.
  • S4 - S6
    • Senior phase when qualifications are taken.


National qualifications are as follows:

  • National 4 replaced Standard Grade General and Intermediate 1
    • The National 4 course is assessed internally and is ungraded
  • National 5 replaced Standard Grade Credit and Intermediate 2
    • The National 5 course involves an external assessment that is graded

Revisions have also been made to Higher and Advanced Higher qualifications.

For Further Information Contact

Education & Schools
Kilncraigs, Greenside Street, Alloa, FK10 1EB
Tel: 01259 450000