Skip to main content | Skip to section menu | Access keys.

Clackmannanshire Council Online

Council Administration Formed

Published on:


May 2022

The first meeting of the new term was held today (25th May) following the local government election, confirming an SNP minority Administration. The Council has 18 Councillors representing 9 SNP, 5 Labour, 3 Conservative and 1 Green.

The Leader of the Council was confirmed as Councillor Ellen Forson, along with the introduction of new roles, including Convener of Council which seeks to share the role of the Provost to provide an enhanced service to the citizens of Clackmannanshire, while supporting administrative arrangements for conducting the Council’s business. The full list of appointments are as follows:

• Provost: Cllr Donald Balsillie
• Depute Provost: Cllr Craig Holden
• Council Leader: Cllr Ellen Forson
• Depute Council Leader: Cllr Graham Lindsay
• Convener of Council: Cllr Phil Fairlie
• Depute Convener: Cllr Craig Holden
• Spokesperson for Education: Cllr Graham Lindsay
• Spokesperson for Health and Social Care: Cllr Wendy Hamilton
• Spokesperson for Partnership, Third Sector and Digital Strategy: Cllr Craig Holden
• Spokesperson for Sport, Leisure and Active Living: Cllr Scott Harrison
• Spokesperson for the Environment and Net Zero: Cllr Fiona Law
• Spokesperson for Housing and Property: Cllr Jane McTaggart
• Chair of Audit and Scrutiny Committee: Cllr Kenneth Earle
• Chair of Planning Committee: Cllr Denis Coyne
• Chair of Regulatory Committee: Cllr Martha Benny

Councillor Ellen Forson, Leader of Clackmannanshire Council, said: “I’m honoured to be elected as Leader of Clackmannanshire Council for another term. Together we can build on the firm foundations and effective cross party working of the last Administrative term to bring forward key projects that will make a difference to the people of Clackmannanshire.”

Full details of the Council Administration can be found online.