Skip to main content | Skip to section menu | Access keys.

Clackmannanshire Council Online

New community councillors elected in four areas

Published on:


September 2023

The results of the four community councils’ elections have been announced.

In total, 13 new community councillors were elected unopposed to Alva, Clackmannan, Muckhart, and Tillicoultry, Coalsnaughton & Devonside community councils.

These new community councillors will be able to take up their positions immediately. They join existing community councillors in a term of office which will last until the next regular community council elections scheduled for 2025.

To find out who the community councillors for these areas are, see the notice on the Council’s website.

Provost Donald Balsillie said: “It is encouraging to see new people come forward to help their communities. Our community councils need a breadth of experience and skills to help them rise to the challenges that face communities and to help them seize the opportunities that present themselves.

“This membership boost will help to share the extensive workload in the four community council areas, and Clackmannanshire Council wishes them all the best for their new roles.”

Community councils are bound by a governance framework which is strictly applied to ensure they legitimately and democratically represent their respective areas. It requires people to go through an open election process in order to become community councillors.

For more information on community councils see the national website.