Skip to main content | Skip to section menu | Access keys.

Clackmannanshire Council Online

Citizen of the Year Finalists

Published on:


February 2017

The finalists to become Clackmannanshire Citizen of the Year have been announced.

Shirley Allan, Dave Clifford, Gloria Foxton, Jamie Jack, Anne Kelly, Marion Levett, Allan McLellan, Craig Miller, Kenny Mitchell, Elma O'Neil, Celia Peat and Johanna Wilkinson are the finalists. The winner of the award, which is sponsored by the Lord Lieutenant's Trust, will be announced at a ceremony in March.

Shirley Allan is a volunteer for Sauchie Active 8, and also assists with the children's choir, fruit barra, youth club, foodbank, playschemes, Sauchie gala and other events organised for the community.

Dave Clifford, a teacher at Alva Academy, has helped to develop the Macmillan fundraising events which have raised over £150,000, organises a remembrance event, is involved with Hillfoots Orchestra and organises music performances at the hospital and hospice.

Gloria Foxton lost her sight more than 30 years ago, and has raised thousands of pounds for the Royal National Institute through fundraising events including an annual sponsored walk around Gartmorn Dam.

Jamie Jack, a teacher at Alloa Academy, recently organised the first show at the school in 10 years, committing a great deal of time and effort to write and direct the show and encouraging the school community to come together to undertake the production.

Anne Kelly volunteers at Hawkhill Community Centre on a number of projects including the homework club, youth club and women's group, and set up the fundraising committee which has been very successful in bidding for funds for the community.

Marion Levett previously won the award in 2014, and works for the Women to Women group to provide an outreach programme to support young girls and women in abusive situations or relationships by providing counselling, peer mentoring, support and home visits.

Allan McLellan has been entertaining senior citizens at care homes, meetings and other community events for over 30 years, helping them to enjoy his music by singing and clapping along and dancing.

Craig Miller volunteers to run four local community choirs including the Resonate choir, Sauchie community choir and Sauchie Active 8 choir, and is a trained singer who gives his time to sing at community events.

Kenny Mitchell has helped to develop community football for over 20 years, encouraging young people and adults to take part in the game, and driving forward plans for new community sport facilities in Dollar.

Elma O'Neil has worked in the local community for over 40 years, many of these working with children in care, is a former Chairperson of the local Citizens Advice Bureau and remains a member and is the Chairperson of Hawkhill Community Association.

Celia Peat runs a fitness centre for people of all ages and abilities, helping people reach their fitness and wellbeing goals through clubbercise, blockfit, Zumba, circuit class and children's dance classes.

Johanna Wilkinson set up the Wee County Veterans and Support Group to bring together veterans and their families, is also involved with Sauchie Community Group, Tenants and Residents Federation and is involved with events and fundraising events.

Provost Derek Stewart said: "The impressive finalists for this year's Citizen of the Year award shows the significant time and effort that our volunteers put into making a difference in Clackmannanshire, and I congratulate and thank them all."

Keith Tuner is the current Citizen of the Year and received this accolade in recognition of his work over 30 years to improve the lives of people in his local community in Sauchie.