Skip to main content | Skip to section menu | Access keys.

Clackmannanshire Council Online

Make a difference to your area by joining community council

Published on:


September 2023

Residents in four key areas of Clackmannanshire are being given the chance to make a difference in their own community.

Nominations for the community councils for Alva, Clackmannan, Muckhart and Tillicoultry, Coalsnaughton & Devonside will open on Wednesday 13 September.

Alva  and Clackmannan Community Councils both have five vacancies, Muckhart has four vacancies and Tillicoultry, Coalsnaughton & Devonside has six vacancies.

The newly elected community councillors will join the existing members and will stand until the next full election in 2026.

The move to fill these vacancies comes as the 50th anniversary of the legislation which introduced Community Councils is marked. 

Anyone who is over the age of 16 and who appears on our electoral roll in the community council area can stand, propose or second.

Residents can get involved by proposing or seconding a nominee using the official nomination form.

Provost Donald Balsillie said: “Becoming a community councillor is one way in which residents can contribute to community life. 

“Without community councils, who carry out important work often behind the scenes, much of the drive to improve our communities would be much more difficult and often not happen.”

 “Joining your community council in this 50th anniversary year would be an admirable step for anyone who knows they have something to contribute."

Notices about the elections are going up at key community locations in the four areas inviting residents to make nominations to their respective community councils. 

You can find out more about your community council by visiting their website or social media. 

Clackmannanshire Council administers the elections on behalf of the community councils. 

Closing date for nominations is 4pm on Thursday 28 September. 

For further information or to obtain a nomination pack, please contact our elections office on 01259 452266, email or see our website