Skip to main content | Skip to section menu | Access keys.

Clackmannanshire Council Online

Citizen and Young Citizen of the Year Announced

Published on:


March 2020

David Russell was named Clackmannanshire Citizen of the Year at an awards ceremony which took place at Kilncraigs last evening.

David received the award, which is sponsored by the Lord Lieutenant's Trust, for his amazing contributions to environmental conservation in the local area. Over the last 12 years, David has contributed 510 days to improving biodiversity and access in Clackmannanshire and across Central Scotland.

The other finalists for the award were Shumela Ahmed, Louise Cannon, Stephen Jelfs and Craig Miller.

On the same evening, Susie Lambert was named Young Citizen of the Year for her work as a key member of the Alloa Academy Anti-Bullying Leadership Team, her commitment and contribution for the preparation and delivery of the group’s successful events. Susie is also Chairperson of the Youth Council. 

Runners up for Young Citizen of the Year were Melissa Smith who took part in a pupil led enquiry and developed an idea for teacher evaluations and Aidan Witty and Kayci Longmore who have both taken part in various fundraising efforts for Macmillan Cancer Support.

The other finalists for Young Citizen of the Year were Harvey Reid, Paul Murphy and Daniel McKenzie, S6 Cohort at Alva Academy, Alison Bett and Daniel Briggs  Aidan Witty,  Kayci Longmore,  Archie Baxter and Thomas McGregor,  Brodie Robertson,  Caitlin Gillespie, Daisy Turner,  Katie Henry, Tony Syme, Ben Johnson and Mia Mitchell, Melissa Smith and Alloa Academy Anti-Bullying Leadership Team. 

Provost Tina Murphy said: “We had a bumper entry of 17 nominations this year for Young Citizen of the Year.  The standard is always very high but it went way beyond that, it was exceptional and made it very hard to select an overall winner.  Any one of the nominees could have taken first place.  Even selecting the runners up was difficult and that was why we had for the first time two in third place. 

“We were very proud of all our Young Citizens and the work they do for their communities and look forward to next year when we will meet some more exceptional Young Citizens.  Congratulations to Susie Lambert our Young Citizen of the Year, David Russell our Citizen of the Year and all of the nominees.”

Lt Col Johnny Stewart, the Lord Lieutenant for Clackmannanshire said: "I am so pleased that the Citizen of the Year Award, now in its 16th year, attracts such worthy nominations.  Clackmannanshire has so many voluntary groups and individuals and it is important to recognise them. I was inspired to hear first hand what the five finalists have done in the Wee County over the years. It was very hard to choose between such a strong group of contenders but I am delighted and congratulate David Russell as the winner of the 2019 Award.  I would also like to congratulate  Susie Lambert on becoming the Young Citizen of the Year."