Skip to main content | Skip to section menu | Access keys.

Clackmannanshire Council Online

Citizen and Young Citizen of the Year Announced

Published on:


March 2019

Alexander Harvey was named Clackmannanshire Citizen of the Year at an awards ceremony which took place at the Speirs Centre last evening.

Alexander received the accolade, which is sponsored by the Lord Lieutenant's Trust, for his work transforming the school garden at Park Primary into a quiet and safe learning space for children, helping them access outdoor learning activities, as well as running gardening and chess clubs to help nurture young people’s interests and potential. He has patiently shared his knowledge and expertise with pupils, as well as supporting many school trips.

The other finalists for the award were George Burnett, Alan Faulds, Marion Levett and Denise Moffat & Adrian Tobin.

On the same evening, Katherine Martin was named Young Citizen of the Year for her involvement in sporting, science and mental health events, running an after school badminton club, volunteering weekly at a local nursery and care home and volunteering at last year’s Special Olympics.  Katherine recently gave a presentation about good mental health at the Well-Being Scotland Conference, and is a Sports Leader within the Council’s Sports Development Team. 

Runners up for Young Citizen of the Year were Lauren Binning who has volunteered for many charities while also becoming a Dux medallist and Scott Brough who gives up his spare time to help a number of causes and takes part in fundraising activities. 

The other finalists for Young Citizen of the Year were Alva Academy S6 Cohort, Kara-Olivia Anderson, Leah Anderson & Eva Duncan, Sara Anwar, Jamie Noon & Emma Orr,
Aiden Cribben, James Evans & Cameron Murphy, Sarah Harris and Martha Tindall.

Provost Tina Murphy said: "Congratulations to Alexander on being named Citizen of the Year and to Katherine on being our Young Citizen of the Year.   Once again we have had a very strong field and a difficult decision was taken to decide who our overall winner was.  Congratulations to all our nominees and it is delightful to read what all these young people are doing throughout Clackmannanshire.  I wish they all could be a winner as this would have made our life easier!”

Lt Col Johnny Stewart, the Lord Lieutenant for Clackmannanshire said: "I am so pleased that the Citizen of the Year Award, now in its 15th year, attracts such worthy nominations.  Clackmannanshire has so many voluntary groups and individuals and it is important to recognise them. I was inspired to hear first hand what the five finalists have done in the Wee County over the years. It was very hard to choose between such a strong group of contenders but I am delighted and congratulate Alexander Harvey as the winner of the 2018 Award.  I would also like to congratulate Katherine Martin on becoming the Young Citizen of the Year."