Skip to main content | Skip to section menu | Access keys.

Clackmannanshire Council Online

Citizen and Young Citizen of the Year Announced

Published on:


March 2018

Caroline Crawford was named Clackmannanshire Citizen of the Year at an awards ceremony which took place the Speirs Centre last evening.

Caroline received the accolade, which is sponsored by the Lord Lieutenant's Trust, for her work as part of Menstrie Community Council for over 30 years. She has been instrumental in sourcing funding for the community for a number of projects including purchase of the community woodland and upgrading of paths, creation of a community garden, improvements to the War Memorial and funding towards the creation of an outdoor classroom.  Caroline has improved the lives of all ages in the community, from setting up a senior citizens lunch club to helping set up a woodland trail helping children become more active and appreciate the environment. 

The other finalists for the award were Alan Faulds, Kit Gow, Cameron Little, Craig Millar, Susan Mitchell, Marleen Owen, Nicola Simm and Anne Tannock.

On the same evening, Shellby Burns was named Young Citizen of the Year. Shellby lead a research based campaign for “So Precious” who provide care for premature babies and families affected by issues during childbirth. Shellby was also a founding member of the Lornshill Academy Citizenship Café, and has been very involved in the peer reading scheme which helps young people to improve their reading skills.

Runners up for Young Citizen of the Year were Alan Hunter who has represented Alloa Academy at sport conferences and is head of the school Sports Committee, and the S6 Cohort at Alva Academy for their success in helping to raise over £250,000 for MacMillan Cancer Care over the past number of years.

The other finalists for Young Citizen of the Year were Eve Bannerman, Adarsh Bhardwaj, Aimie Bird, Lucy Corkish, Findlay Currie, Stephanie Davidson, Joe Driver, Kieran Forbes, Blane Gilchrist, Connie Henderson, Aidan Hunter, Sophie Kane, Megan McKenna, Glenn McKerracher, Rachel Morrison, Megan Meldrum, Kaitlin Paterson, Kirsten Ross, Erin Seaman, James Twist and Holly White.

Provost Tina Murphy said: "Congratulations to Caroline and Shelby on being named Citizen and Young Citizen of the Year.  I am delighted that their work and commitment to improving the lives of people in Clackmannanshire has been recognised by winning the awards.  I’d also like to pay tribute to all the finalists, who impressed the judges with the breadth of their dedication and service.  In this Year of Young People, it is particularly uplifting to see just how many of our younger citizens are committed to going the extra mile to help make lives better in our communities.”

Lt Col Johnny Stewart, the Lord Lieutenant for Clackmannanshire said: "I am so pleased that the Citizen of the Year Award, now in its 14th year, is still so well supported.  Clackmannanshire has so many voluntary groups and individuals and it is important to recognise this. I was inspired to hear first hand what the 10 finalists have done in the Wee County over the years. It was very hard to choose between such a strong group of contenders but I am delighted and congratulate Caroline Crawford as the winner of the 2017 Award.  I would also like to congratulate Shellby Burns on becoming the Young Citizen of the Year."