

Kilncraigs, Greenside Street, Alloa, FK10 1EB (Tel.01259-450000)

Regulatory Committee

Tuesday 15 August 2023 at 9.30 am

Venue: Council Chamber, Kilncraigs, Alloa, FK10 1EB

Partnership and Performance, Clackmannanshire Council, Kilncraigs, Greenside Street, Alloa, FK10 1EB Phone: 01259 452004/452006 email: committees@clacks.gov.uk web: www.clacks.gov.uk



Regulatory Committee

The Regulatory Committee, subject to the Council's approved policies, has responsibility for:

- 1. Determining applications for the grant or renewal of any licences to be issued under the Civic Government (Scotland) Act 1982, including the imposition of conditions on any licence granted.
- 2. Determining whether to suspend or alter any licence issued under the Civic Government (Scotland) Act 1982.
- 3. Determining whether to recall a suspension made pursuant to the terms of the Civic Government (Scotland) Act 1982.
- 4. Setting, approving and reviewing any policies in respect of the operation of the licensing regime under the Civic Government (Scotland) Act 1982.
- 5. Discharging the Council's statutory licensing function in respect of all legislation that imposes the duty on the Council as the appropriate authority to determine applications or to grant regulatory consents in respect of any licensable activities prescribed by statute.
- 6. Holding hearings and determining HMO Licence applications in terms of Schedule 4 of the Housing (Scotland) Act 2006.
- 7. Dealing with regulatory and enforcement issues arising from matters delegated to or delivered by Community and Regulatory Services related to Environmental Health, Licensing (other than alcohol licensing) and Trading Standards.
- 8. Taking decisions on suspending or altering a premises approval as provided for under the Marriage (Scotland) Act 2002.
- 9. Holding hearings for the purposes of paragraph 7 of Schedule1 of the Smoking Health and Social Care (Scotland) Act 2005 (the SHSCA 2005).
- 10. Hearing appeals against officers' decisions to refuse or remove a landlord's or agent's registration under part 8 of the Antisocial Behaviour etc (Scotland) Act 2004.

Members of the public are welcome to attend our Council and Committee meetings to see how decisions are made.

Details of all of our Council and Committee dates and agenda items are published on our website at www.clacks.gov.uk

If you require further information about Council or Committee meetings, please contact Committee Services by e-mail at committees@clacks.gov.uk or by telephone on 01259 452006 or 452004.

7 August 2023

A MEETING of the REGULATORY COMMITTEE will be held in the COUNCIL CHAMBER, KILNCRAIGS, ALLOA on TUESDAY 15 AUGUST 2023 at 9.30 AM.



SHAUN MCPHEE Solicitor

PP. LEE ROBERTSON Clerk to the Regulatory Committee

BUSINESS

Page No.

05

- 1. Apologies
- 2. Declaration of Interests Members should declare any financial or non-financial interests they have in any item on this agenda, identifying the relevant agenda item and the nature of their interest in accordance with the Councillors' Code of Conduct. A Declaration of Interest form should be completed and passed to the Committee Officer.

EXEMPT INFORMATION

It is anticipated (although this is not certain) that the Committee will resolve to exclude the press and public during consideration of these items.

It is considered that the undernoted reports are treated as exempt from the Council's general policy of disclosure of all papers by virtue of Schedule 7A, Part 1, Paragraphs 3, 6, and 14 of the Local Government (Scotland) Act 1973.

3. Application List (Copy herewith)

Application for Grant of Private Hire Car Operator Licence
(Scott Walker) – Application Form; Representations from the Civic Licensing Standards Officer and Police Scotland; Letter to Applicant; and E-mail from Applicant (Copy herewith)

Contact Partnership and Performance, Clackmannanshire Council, Kilncraigs, Greenside Street, Alloa, FK10 1EB Phone: 01259 452004/452006 email: committees@clacks.gov.uk web: www.clacks.gov.uk

Regulatory Committee – Committee Members (Membership 8 – Quorum 4)

| Councillors | | Wards | | |
|-------------|----------------------------|-------|--------------------------|--------------|
| Councillor | Kenneth Earle (Vice Chair) | 4 | Clackmannanshire South | LABOUR |
| Councillor | Martha Benny | 2 | Clackmannanshire North | CONSERVATIVE |
| Councillor | Phil Fairlie | 1 | Clackmannanshire West | SNP |
| Councillor | Wendy Hamilton | 3 | Clackmannanshire Central | SNP |
| Councillor | Scott Harrison | 5 | Clackmannanshire East | SNP |
| Councillor | Darren Lee | 1 | Clackmannanshire West | CONSERVATIVE |
| Councillor | Kathleen Martin | 5 | Clackmannanshire East | LABOUR |
| Councillor | Jane McTaggart | 3 | Clackmannanshire Central | SNP |