

Chlach Mhanann

MINUTES OF SPECIAL MEETING of the CLACKMANNANSHIRE COUNCIL held within the Council Chamber, Kilncraigs, Greenside Street, Alloa, FK10 1EB, on THURSDAY 16 JANUARY 2020 at 11.30 am.

PRESENT

Provost Tina Murphy (In the Chair) **Councillor Donald Balsillie** Councillor Martha Benny **Councillor Dave Clark Councillor Kenneth Earle** Councillor Ellen Forson Councillor Craig Holden Councillor Darren Lee **Councillor Helen Lewis** Councillor Graham Lindsay Councillor Jane McTaggart Councillor George Matchett QPM Councillor Les Sharp Councillor Derek Stewart

IN ATTENDANCE

Nikki Bridle, Chief Executive Pete Leonard, Strategic Director (Place) Stuart Crickmar, Strategic Director (Partnership & Performance) Chris Alliston, Senior Service Manager (Partnership & Performance) Murray Sharp, Senior Service Manager, Housing (Place) Iain McDonald, Senior Service Manager, Environment (Place) Scott Walker, Team Leader, Roads, Street Lighting and Waste Lindsay Thomson, Senior Service Manager, Partnership & Performance (Clerk to the Council) Gillian White, Committee Services

The Provost advised that the reason for the Special Council was to consider the Garden Waste Permit Scheme Report which not considered at the Council Meeting held on 19 December 2020. At that time, the Provost had given an undertaking that the report would be considered at a Special Meeting of the Council.

APOLOGIES CC.281

Apologies were received from Councillor Kathleen Martin and Councillor Chris Dixon.

GARDEN WASTE PERMIT SCHEME CC.282

The report, submitted by the Strategic Director (Place), advised Council of the progress made towards the introduction of charges for collection of domestic garden waste from March 2020.

Motion

That Council agrees the recommendations set out in the report

Moved by Councillor Donald Balsillie. Seconded by Councillor Jane McTaggart.

Voting

In terms of Standing Order 14.7, Councillor Clark asked for a roll call vote. The Council agreed that a vote be taken by calling the roll and at this stage there were 14 members present who were eligible to vote. On the roll being called, the elected members present voted as follows:

For the Motion (10)

Provost Tina Murphy Councillor Donald Balsillie Councillor Martha Benny Councillor Ellen Forson Councillor Craig Holden Councillor Darren Lee Councillor Helen Lewis Councillor Graham Lindsay Councillor Jane McTaggart Councillor Les Sharp

Against the Motion (4)

Councillor Dave Clark Councillor Kenneth Earle Councillor George Matchett QPM Councillor Derek Stewart

The motion was carried by 10 votes to 4.

Decision

On a division of 10 votes to 4, the Council:

- 1. Noted the contents of the report and the ongoing cross-service work to implement the garden waste permit scheme;
- 2. Agreed to set an initial charge of £36 per bin which will be included in the Council's Register of Charges and notes that any proposed future increases will be subject to Council approval on an annual basis as part of the budget process which reviews the register of charges; and
- 3. Noted that, following consultation in line with the Housing (Scotland) Act 2001, the Housing Revenue Account (HRA) will cover the costs of permits for those tenants who currently have a brown bin or wish to have one. Tenants who do not wish to participate and have no obligation to maintain greenspace can request not to receive a permit and have the brown bin removed.

Action

Strategic Director (Place)

Ends: 12.48 pm