Skip to main content | Skip to section menu | Access keys.

Clackmannanshire Council Online

Community Council Nominations Stage Results

Published on:


September 2016

Residents of eight of Clackmannanshire's communities have elected the people who will represent their interests over the next 4 years.

Members of Alloa, Alva, Clackmannan, Dollar, Menstrie, Sauchie & Fishcross, Tillicoultry, Coalsnaughton & Devonside and Tullibody Cambus & Glenochil community councils were elected unopposed and their term of office will begin on the 21st October 2016. To find out who the community councillors for these areas are, see the notice in your local CAP office or go to ClacksWeb

In the ninth area, Muckhart, residents nominated more people than places available on the community council and they will be balloted next month to elect 12 of the nominees to their community council.

Community councils are bound by a governance framework which is strictly applied to ensure they legitimately and democratically represent their respective areas. It requires people to go through an open election process in order to become community councillors.

Provost Derek Stewart said: "Congratulations to everyone who accepted the nomination and stood for election to their community council. Every area in Clackmannanshire continues to be represented by a community council. This is an excellent result for us and is a good sign that there is still a real and active interest in citizen participation."