

### MINUTES OF SPECIAL MEETING of the CLACKMANNANSHIRE COUNCIL held within the Council Chamber, Patons Building, Kilncraigs, ALLOA, FK10 1EB, on THURSDAY 2 JUNE 2016 at 9.45 am.

## PRESENT

Provost Derek Stewart (In the Chair) **Councillor Donald Balsillie Councillor Janet Cadenhead** Councillor Alastair Campbell Councillor Kenneth Earle Councillor Ellen Forson Councillor Irene Hamilton **Councillor Craig Holden** Councillor Kathleen Martin Councillor George Matchett, QPM Councillor Walter McAdam Councillor Bobby McGill Councillor Tina Murphy Councillor Les Sharp Councillor Jim Stalker Councillor Graham Watt Councillor Gary Womersley

### In Attendance

Elaine McPherson, Chief Executive Nikki Bridle, Depute Chief Executive Garry Dallas, Executive Director Stephen Coulter, Head of Resources and Governance Stuart Crickmar, Head of Strategy and Customer Services Kevin Kelman, Assistant Head of Education Ahsan Khan, Head of Housing and Community Safety Gordon McNeil, Head of Development Shiona Strachan, Chief Officer, Health and Social Care Integration Andrew Wyse, Acting Legal Services Manager (Clerk to the Council)

### CC(16)16 APOLOGIES

None

## CC(16)17 DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

None

### CC(16)18 THE COUNCIL'S DECISION MAKING FRAMEWORK

A report was submitted by Councillor Bobby McGill which sought approval from Council to change the decision making framework which was put in place by Council in June 2012. In response to a point of order regarding the competency of consideration of the paper, the Clerk advised that a decision on the principles proposed by the subject matter of the paper

substance was necessary before it would then be appropriate to make consequential changes to Standing Orders. Notice to amend Standing Orders was given at the meeting on 12/05/16. The current meeting was a special meeting called specifically to deal with the matter in the paper which advised that if the paper was approved changes to standing orders would be required and as such the requirements for consideration of the item had been met .The Clerk confirmed that the Chair of the Licensing Board was a Board appointment in terms of Schedule 1 of the Licensing (Scotland) Act 2005 and there could be no appointment made by Council in relation to the Chair of the Licensing Board. As the Chair of the Planning Committee was already filled there was no proposal to appoint a Chair of the Planning Committee.

The Provost indicated that he would accept the advice given by the Clerk.

## Motion

That Council agrees

- (a) the principles set out in recommendation 2.1(a) of the report; and
- (b) if Council agrees the changes to the decision making framework then:
  - (i) approves the remits of the new committees as set out in the appendix to the report
  - (ii) appoints an elected member from the main Opposition to chair the Scrutiny Committee
  - (iii) appoints an elected member to chair the Audit and Finance Committee
  - (iv) appoints members to sit on the Scrutiny and Audit and Finance Committees on the basis of the Council's agreed approach to political balance.
  - (v) appoints members to the new spokesperson positions.
  - (vi) Approves the positions which are awarded senior councillor responsibility payments as set out in paragraph 6.1 of the report.
  - (vii) Notes that revisions to Standing Orders which include these consequential changes will be brought to the next Council meeting.

Moved by Councillor Bobby McGill. Seconded by Councillor Graham Watt.

## Voting

Vote on recommendation 2.1 (a)

| For the motion     | 9 votes |
|--------------------|---------|
| Against the motion | 0 votes |
| Abstentions        | 8       |

The motion to agree the principles set out in recommendation 2,1(a) of the report was carried on a division of 9 votes to 0 with 8 abstentions.

### Decision

Accordingly, the Council agreed the proposals set out in the report to change the Council's decision making framework as set out at sections 4, 5 and 6 of the report.

## Appointments

### Scrutiny Committee

Administration members: (3) Councillor Bobby McGill, Councillor Janet Cadenhead and Councillor Graham Watt.

Other member (1) Councillor Alastair Campbell

Opposition Members (4) To be advised Moved by Councillor Bobby McGill. Seconded by Councillor George Matchett, QPM

#### Audit and Finance Committee

Administration members (4) Councillor Bobby McGill, Councillor Janet Cadenhead, Councillor Graham Watt and Councillor Jim Stalker

Other member (1) Councillor Alastair Campbell

Opposition Members (3) To be advised

Moved by Councillor Bobby McGill. Seconded by Councillor George Matchett, QPM

#### **Special Areas of Responsibility**

Spokesperson for Education – Councillor George Matchett, QPM Spokesperson for Health and Social Work – Councillor Graham Watt Spokesperson for Environment and Housing – Councillor Kathleen Martin

Moved by Councillor Bobby McGill. Seconded by Councillor Graham Watt.

#### **Committee Chairs**

Chair of the Scrutiny Committee – Opposition Member to be advised Chair of the Audit and Finance Committee – Councillor Janet Cadenhead Chair of Planning – No vacancy (Councillor Alastair Campbell) Chair of Clackmannanshire Licensing Board – as set out in Schedule 1 of the Licensing (Scotland) 2005 Act

Moved by Councillor Bobby McGill. Seconded by Councillor George Matchett, QPM

#### Vote on recommendation 2.1(b)

Councillor Irene Hamilton asked for a roll call vote. At this point there were 17 members present who were eligible to vote. On the roll being called the members presented voted as follows:

#### For (9 votes)

Councillor Derek Stewart Councillor George Matchett, QPM Councillor Bobby McGill Councillor Janet Cadenhead Councillor Jim Stalker Councillor Kathleen Martin Councillor Graham Watt Councillor Kenneth Earle Councillor Alastair Campbell

#### Abstain (3 non-voting)

Councillor Gary Womersley Councillor Tina Murphy Councillor Walter McAdam, MBE

### Against (5 votes)

Councillor Craig Holden Councillor Irene Hamilton Councillor Ellen Forson Councillor Donald Balsillie Councillor Les Sharp

# Decision

On a division of 9 votes to 5 with 3 abstentions, the Council agreed:

- (i) To approve the remits of the new Committees as set out in the appendix to the report.
- (ii) To be advised of an elected member from the main Opposition Group to chair the Scrutiny Committee
- (iii) The appointment of Councillor Janet Cadenhead to chair the Audit and Finance Committee
- (iv) The appointment of members to sit on the Scrutiny and Audit and Finance Committees (as set out above) on the basis of the Council's agreed approach to political balance.
- (v) The appointment of members to the new spokepersons positions (as set out above)
- (vi) To approve the positions which are rewarded senior councillor responsibility payments as set out in paragraph 6.1 of the report.
- (vii) To note that revisions to Standing Orders which include these consequential changes will be brought to the next Council meeting.

Action

Chief Executive

Ends 1030 hrs