# THIS PAPER RELATES TO ITEM 03 (i) ON THE AGENDA



MINUTES OF SPECIAL MEETING of the CLACKMANNANSHIRE COUNCIL held within the Council Chamber, Patons Building, Kilncraigs, ALLOA, FK10 1EB, on THURSDAY 2 JUNE 2016 at 9.30 am.

#### **PRESENT**

Councillor Donald Balsillie

Councillor Janet Cadenhead

Councillor Alastair Campbell

Councillor Kenneth Earle

Councillor Ellen Forson

Councillor Irene Hamilton

Councillor Craig Holden

Councillor Kathleen Martin

Councillor George Matchett, QPM

Councillor Walter McAdam

Councillor Bobby McGill

Councillor Tina Murphy

Councillor Les Sharp

Councillor Jim Stalker

Councillor Derek Stewart

Councillor Graham Watt

Councillor Gary Womersley

## In Attendance

Elaine McPherson, Chief Executive
Nikki Bridle, Depute Chief Executive
Garry Dallas, Executive Director
Stephen Coulter, Head of Resources and Governance
Stuart Crickmar, Head of Strategy and Customer Services
Kevin Kelman, Assistant Head of Education
Ahsan Khan, Head of Housing and Community Safety
Gordon McNeil, Head of Development
Shiona Strachan, Chief Officer, Health and Social Care Integration
Andrew Wyse, Acting Legal Services Manager (Clerk to the Council)

The Chief Executive advised that in terms of Standing Order 6.5, today's Special Meeting had been called to consider the appointment of Provost and three other posts. To get Council to that point procedurally, Council was asked to consider two available options and to intimate how it wished to proceed:

- (1) Either in the same way as after an election where there is no political administration and no Council appointees to positions of responsibility, the Chief Executive may take the chair until the Provost is appointed; or
- (2) Council may appoint one of its own members to chair the meeting for the first three items until the Provost is appointed.

The Council agreed that the Chief Executive take the Chair until the Provost is appointed.

Accordingly, the Chief Executive took the Chair at the commencement of the special meeting.

CC(16)10 APOLOGIES

None

CC(16)11 DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

None

## CC(16)12 APPOINTMENT OF PROVOST

The Chief Executive invited nominations from Council for the appointment of Provost of Clackmannanshire Council.

### **Nominations**

- (1) Councillor Bobby McGill, seconded by Councillor Graham Watt, nominated Councillor Derek Stewart as Provost of Clackmannanshire Council.
- (2) Councillor Les Sharp, seconded by Councillor Donald Balsillie, nominated Councillor Tina Murphy as Provost of Clackmannanshire Council.

There were no other nominations.

## Voting

In terms of Standing Order 14.8, Councillor Bobby McGill, asked for a roll call vote. The Council agreed that a vote be taken by calling the roll and at this stage there were 17 members present who were eligible to vote. On the roll being called, the members present voted as follows:

### For the Nomination of Councillor Derek Stewart as Provost (9 votes)

Councillor George Matchett, QPM

Councillor Bobby McGill

Councillor Janet Cadenhead

Councillor Jim Stalker

Councillor Kathleen Martin

Councillor Graham Watt

Councillor Derek Stewart

Councillor Kenneth Earle

Councillor Alastair Campbell

## For the Nomination of Councillor Tina Murphy as Provost (8 votes)

Councillor Gary Womersley

Councillor Tina Murphy

Councillor Walter McAdam, MBE

Councillor Craig Holden

Councillor Irene Hamilton

Councillor Ellen Forson

Councillor Donald Balsillie

Councillor Les Sharp

### **Decision**

On a division of 9 votes to 8, the Council agreed to elect Councillor Derek Stewart as Provost of Clackmannanshire Council.

Accordingly, the Chief Executive declared Councillor Derek Stewart duly elected as Provost of Clackmannanshire Council.

The Provost accepted the chain of office and took the chair at this point in the proceedings.

Councillor Stewart thanked the Council and paid tribute to former Provost, Councillor Tina Murphy.

## CC(16)13 APPOINTMENT OF A DEPUTE PROVOST

The Provost invited nominations from Council for the appointment of Depute Provost of Clackmannanshire Council.

#### **Nominations**

Councillor George Matchett, QPM, seconded by Councillor Graham Watt, nominated Councillor Jim Stalker as Depute Provost of Clackmannanshire Council.

There were no other nominations.

#### **Decision**

The Council agreed to elect Councillor Jim Stalker as Depute Provost of Clackmannanshire Council.

## CC(16)14 APPOINTMENT OF A COUNCIL LEADER

The Provost invited nominations from Council for the appointment of Leader of Clackmannanshire Council.

### **Nominations**

Councillor Janet Cadenhead, seconded by Councillor George Matchett, QPM, nominated Councillor Bobby McGill as Leader of Clackmannanshire Council.

There were no other nominations.

## **Decision**

The Council agreed to elect Councillor Bobby McGill as Leader of Clackmannanshire Council.

## CC(16)15 APPOINTMENT OF DEPUTE COUNCIL LEADER

The Provost invited nominations from Council for the appointment of Depute Leader of Clackmannanshire Council.

## **Nominations**

Councillor Kathleen Martin, seconded by Councillor George Matchett QPM, nominated Councillor Graham Watt as Depute Leader of Clackmannanshire Council.

There were no other nominations

#### **Decision**

The Council agreed to elect Councillor Graham Watt as Depute Leader of Clackmannanshire Council.

Ends 0940 hrs